About Our Chapter

Greater Metropolitan Atlanta Chapter History

Jack and Jill of America, Inc. (“Jack and Jill”) has established itself as the premier organization bringing African-American children together in a social, cultural, and service environment. The Jack and Jill chapters in the metropolitan area of Atlanta are demographically unique in that over 40% of those residing in the community are African-American; therefore, there continues to be a need to expand access to families desiring to provide the unique opportunity that membership in Jack and Jill offers to their children.

In the spring of 2011, under the leadership and with the encouragement of President Rebecca Young and Vice President Marian Roach, the Atlanta Chapter of Jack and Jill voted favorably to share boundaries and fully and actively embrace the formation of an interest group. Under the direction of National Vice President Robinson, President Young appointed Hillary Dunson, Kyra Harvey, and Felecia Farrar-Perkins as liaisons to guide and provide resources to organizers of the interest group, Mothers Darlene McGhee Whittington and Melody Marie Smalls. The interest group received letters of support and affirmation to proceed from National Vice President Tamara Robinson, Southeastern Regional Director Joli Cooper, and President Rebecca Young.

The Progressive Atlanta Moms (PAM) provisional group’s inaugural 2011-2012 programming year ended with 59 amazing mothers. The final step for PAM was the acquisition of a unanimous favorable vote from the delegates at the 40th National Convention on July 27, 2012 in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania to ratify PAM as a provisional chapter. This culminated in the installation of the Greater Metropolitan Atlanta Chapter (GMAC) as the 40th chapter of the Southeastern Region of Jack and Jill of America, Incorporated on September 30, 2012.

GMAC Executive Board Members

Shondria Covington

Vice President Membership
Jessie Hood

Sabrinna McTier

Program Director
Annette Miles

Assistant Program Director
Zandra Rogers

Financial Secretary
Tiaudra Shaw

Recording Secretary
Kimberly Funderburk

Assistant Recording Secretary
Monica Jones

Corresponding Secretary
Kaprice Welsh

Nicole Lewis

Kristy Liddelow

Teresa Dallas-Wills

Meka Ward

Roberta Harvey

Lead Teen Coordinator
Sherri Shelton-Johnson

Community Service Chair

Membership Co-Chair
Shannon Cain

Foundation/Fundraising Chair
Joy White

Protocol Chairman
Felicia Crawford-Smith